Books to Read if you Loved Emily in Paris

If you’ve been anywhere on the internet lately, you would have seen at least one person talk about Emily in Paris. It’s a new show on Netflix that chronicles Emily Cooper’s emergence in the French marketing world. It’s a really fun show, with lots of laughs, love, and amazing fashion. After binge watching the show in two days, I started thinking about what books would be a great accompaniment to the show. I took a look at my bookshelf, and chose a couple books that I think would be great reads if you enjoyed the show.

  1. Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
    Sophie Kinsella transports you to the London lifestyle of Becky Bloomwood. She lives in the trendiest part of London, and wears all the latest fashion. However, Becky can’t actually afford her lifestyle with her writing job. But does that stop her? Not at all. This novel really emphasizes fashion, so if you’re looking to for a book with a lot of fashion talk, this one is for you.
  2. Emma by Jane Austen
    For the classics lover, I would suggest picking up Emma. This novel centres around Emma Woodhouse, a vain woman who loves to play matchmaker among the people she knows. However, she can be naïve with the attention that is placed upon herself. Emma is a confident woman, who thinks her matchmaking is painstakingly correct. She resembles Emily in her tenacity to do things her way, and thinking they will always turn out for the best. This is also one of Jane Austen’s most comedic novels, for all the humour lovers out there.
  3. Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling
    I think nonfiction books have a place on this list as well. Mindy Kaling’s memoir Why Not Me? has all the same energy as Emily in Paris, but if it were real life. Kaling’s second memoir is full of high energy, ambition, and laugh out loud stories. She embodies a lot of what Emily is about professionally. Kaling wants to succeed for herself, and isn’t afraid to take risks to obtain her dreams.
  4. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
    Bridget Jones’s Diary is one of my favourite romcoms out there. I think it’s a great book that shows a 30-something woman struggling to find her way in life. She is similar to Becky Bloomwood in the sense they both are writers that don’t necessarily like their jobs. Bridget Jones is has an idealized sense of how she wants her life to look like, as well as herself. Although her judgement can be clouded with what she wants to accomplish, she is very determined to make her dreams come true. Not to mention, there are a lot of amazing men in this book just like the show.
  5. It by Alex Chung
    With It, Alexa Chung puts together chapters of all the things that inspire her, as well as short little stories about her style icons. If you can imagine what Emily’s notebooks and Pinterest boards would look like, they would resemble this book a whole lot. If you’re looking for fashion and style inspirartion, and a beautiful coffee table book, Alexa Chung’s It will give you just that.
  6. One Day by David Nicholls
    At first I was hesitant to add this book on the list, but after much thought, I think it has a lot of the essence of Emily in both protagonists. Emma and Dexter are friends who never seem to get their timing right. Both of them go through multiple careers, with wild stories that go along with them. This is a romcom that has a lot of heart, with a lot of serious topics such as substance abuse and depression. So, if you’re looking for a book that has the essence of Emily in Paris, but has a bit more seriousness to it, I think you’d like One Day.

Have you read any of these books? Let me know what you think.

Also let me know what your thoughts are on Emily in Paris!